A logical Structure of colors is created by Theory of colors. For example we can arrange vegetable and fruits according to their color in a logical structure to explain the theory of colors. Following is the image of Color Wheel which is explained in the later part of this article.

The Color Wheel:

A color wheel/circle is based on the primary colors, namely-Red, Blue and Yellow. In 1666 Sir Issac Newton developed the first circular Diagram of colors. Since then, various scientist, artists etc have designed and studied various aspects of Color Wheel.

Division of Colors:

Well !! Colors can be divided into Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Colors.

Primary Colors: Red, Yellow and Blue.
As per traditional color Theory(Used in pigments and colors), primary colors are three basic colors which cannot be formed or mixed by any combinations of other colors. All the other colors are derived from these three basic Primary Colors.

Secondary Colors: Green, Orange and Purple.
These colors are derived by mixing primary colors.

Tertiary Colors: Yellow-Orange, Red-Orange, Red-Purple, Purple-Blue, Blue-Green and Yellow Green.

These are the colors formed by mixing secondary and primary colors. That is why the hue is named like this i.e. Yellow-Orange, Red-Orange, Blue-Green

Leave a Reply